With a name like “Butterbeer,” many folks worry that the popular drink at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter park may contain alcohol and those with a lack of tolerance for lactose show concern for the “butter” part.
I’ve had many parents and some teetotaling friends express their worry that the butterbeer recipe includes alcohol. Although a frosty beverage, it’s really more akin to root beer than it is to alcoholic beer. Super sweet and just a hint of carbonation, topped off with a whipped topping and served cold or frozen (possibly even adding to the ideas that it’s alcoholic in nature).
As for that “whipped topping,” those with lactose intolerant children or intolerant, themselves worry about the whipped topping. Universal spokespeople and cast members alike assure us that the butterbeer recipe is completely dairy free — not even some “butter,” as the name implies. Good news for those that can’t handle the dairy.
Now, if you’re diabetic, you may need to reconsider that butterbeer, however. It has as much or more sugar than most sodas, per serving. That frozen one is especially sweet!! I can’t even finish a whole one.
So, the next time you’re visiting the Harry Potter park, don’t fret about alcohol or dairy in that butterbeer recipe. Be prepared to watch your kids spin in circles after slurping down this tasty beverage, though. The sugar high will be something to behold!
Want to get all our tips and tricks for visiting the Wizarding World of Harry Potter? We wrote a travel guide for the Wizarding World of Harry Potter Hogsmeade! We included all our tips and tricks that we’ve learned over the last year to make your visit to the Wizarding World as magical as possible. Be sure to check it out!
Get your Harry Potter theme park souvenirs from the official Harry Potter shop, the WB Shop!